Event Detail

    < Event Listing

Event Image

WEDS@7 Palimpsest

Wednesday, May 18th, 2022 7:00 pm

Conrad Prebys Concert Hall

Free. RSVP required: http://music.ucsd.edu/tickets

All guests must adhere to University Return to Learn guidelines.

Streaming LIVE for FREE at http://music.ucsd.edu/live

Exploring Legacy

Introducing a new collection of historically important percussion instruments from the personal collection of the ground breaking composer Chou Wen-chung (1923-2019), the percussion group red fish blue fish in partnership with the Transplanted Roots Percussion Conference will present a concert entitled "Exploring Legacy" on May 18 in the Conrad Prebys Concert Hall at 7:00 p.m. Featured will be Professor Chou's master work for percussion quartet, Echoes from the Gorge, which will be performed for the first time using the original instruments for which it was written.  


These instruments, thanks to a generous gift from the Chou family, are now the core part of UC San Diego's "Chou Percussion Collection." They represent not just Professor Chou's music, but his spirit of cross-cultural collaboration and the partnership between Chinese and Western musicians.  The collection will the basis for an annual "Chou Percussion Commission," given to a UC San Diego graduate composer to compose a piece of music using or inspired by the collection.  


In addition to Echoes from the Gorge, "Exploring Legacy" will feature works by Erin Graham, the inaugural Chou Commission recipient, along with music by Lei Liang, a Chou student, and by Edgard Varèse, Professor Chou's mentor. Soloists include flutist Wilfrido Terrazas, contrabassist Mark Dresser, and percussionists Rebecca Lloyd-Jones and Yongyun Zhang.


Iannis Xenakis - Komboi

Edgard Varese - Density 21.5

Chou Wen-chung - Echoes from the Gorge


Erin Graham - Shape of Silence

Facebook Event | View Google Map | Add to Google Calendar