Event Detail

    < Event Listing

Event Image

Trio Kobayashi

Monday, November 14th, 2011 8:00 pm

Conrad Prebys Concert Hall


Trio Kobayashi specializes in the emerging field of just intonation music for brass. This goal is frequently achieved by using a valve tuning system developed by Wolfgang von Schweinitz and Marc Sabat. Founded to perform the music of Wolfgang von Schweinitz, Kobayashi has gone on to perform a wide repertoire stretching from vocal music of the Renaissance to collaborations with living composers such as Larry Polansky, Ulrich Krieger, Nicholas Deyoe, Marc Sabat, and Jürg Frey. For this concert, the program includes Peter Ablinger's Weiss/Weisslich 21 (version for UCSD's 60-inch tam-tam), J.S. Bach's Trio Sonata BWV 1039, Marc Sabat's Hairy, Hippy, Happy, and Heinrich Isaac's Four Pieces. The trio has performed at RedCat's New Music After Grisey and Los Angeles' Microfest. Kobayashi has recently completed recordings of the music of Marc Sabat (Plainsound editions), as well as Mark Trayle and John Cage (Mode Records). Trio Kobayashi is Zara Teicher (french horn), Matt Barbier (trombones) and Luke Storm (tuba). They are in San Diego for a residency organized by composition grad student Brian Griffeath-Loeb in association with New Music at UCSD, with support from the UCSD Graduate Student Association, Associated Students, Triton Community Fund, and Department of Music.


Additional Description:
View Google Map | Add to Google Calendar